Hello world!

The first post on a blog always has kind of a Twilight-Zone-y feel: submitted for your consideration, one young woman with an excessive fondness for parts of the eighties–although not the parts currently appearing in stores, good GOD, and who said that fuschia could be a color again?–fantasy, and snack food Nature never intended, who one day…

…and so forth. Except hopefully with fewer omnipotent psychotic children.

So: I’m Isabel Cooper. Dorchester Publishing is going to be releasing No Proper Lady, a paranormal romance of mine, in April 2011. We’ve been describing it as My Fair Lady meets Terminator, with a bit of Lovecraft thrown in: my hero, a Victorian gentleman occultist has to teach an assassin from a post-apocalyptic future how to blend into Society.

It was immensely fun to write, and I did a remarkable imitation of an anime schoolgirl when Leah from Dorchester called me. I may have spontaneously developed pigtails and a sailor suit.

Moving quickly past that unnerving mental image:

For those of you who don’t know me, I’m a writer (obviously), a geek (video games, fantasy novels, roleplaying…), a feminist, and prone to ranting more-or-less cheerfully about various popcultural trends. And why the CVS down the street has stopped carrying the good kind of cherry cordials.

If you know me from livejournal, this is probably where I’ll post longer, more thoughtful, essay-type stuff–which I’ll actually be trying to do a little more of in the future. It’s alarmingly like being a grown-up, this.

About isabelcooper

I'm Izzy. I write stuff: mostly vaguely fantasy stuff, and most notably the following books: Hickey of the Beast, published March 2011 by Candlemark and Gleam No Proper Lady, published September 2011 by Sourcebooks Lessons After Dark, forthcoming in April 2012 from Sourcebooks I also like video games, ballroom dancing, and various geeky hobbies like LARPing. I have been known to voluntarily purchase and eat circus peanuts. Like, a whole bag at once.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Hello world!

  1. Mr WordPress says:

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

  2. Jarred says:

    We’ve been describing it as My Fair Lady meets Terminator, with a bit of Lovecraft thrown in….

    Okay, that description alone is enough to keep me on the lookout for the book.

  3. Tez Miller says:

    I’ve finally found you! Read about the book on Leah’s blog or Twitter however many months ago, and I’ve at last chased you up. Really looking forward to hearing more about NO PROPER LADY! 🙂

  4. Rebs says:

    Just found the premise from your book out on the webs somewhere. As soon as I read the summary, I was like “this my kind of book”. Combining my favorite genres, historical romance, fantasy and sci-fi all into one package! Best of luck with it, I can’t wait to get my hands on a copy and review it!

    book-rants.blogspot.com

  5. Meggs says:

    HI! I have just found/read the blurb for your book and have instantly purchased it! Now I have the long wait for it to be shipped to Australia!!!
    After reading your blog posts I was left wondering where the “would you like to know more?” button was. (Forgive my bad Starship Troopers quote!). So now I am left with the ultimate question will there be more books?

Leave a Reply

