Serious

This is not the week to post light-hearted pop cultural things, I’m thinking. At least not for me.

As a generic white chick, I believe that everything I could say has been said elsewhere, so I will briefly state my official position: neo-Nazis are bad, “disaffected young men/women” who just kinda sorta happen to hang out with neo-Nazis are not really worth distinguishing from same (like, being merely a cheerleader for white supremacy instead of the QB does not actually get you points) and also are pathetic in a way where I actually don’t feel at all sorry for them, calling for genocide/slavery/etc is not “free speech,” and Indiana Jones had the right idea about a lot of things. (Though other peoples’ artifacts should probably remain where they are, and also snakes are pretty neat, really.)

Furthermore, most of the statues people are freaking out defending went up considerably after the Civil War as a stupid passive-aggressive statement against civil rights.  And a lot of them, as per this post a friend linked me to, are both cheaply made and goddamn terrifying (http://www.lawyersgunsmoneyblog.com/2017/08/hollow), like, not even in a societal implications way (although there’s that) but in the sense that they’ve bought a summer home in the Uncanny Valley.

So yeah. Later, once I’ve thought it out, I may post something about the times when “loyalty” is not a virtue; still later, there will likely be vacation observations, including Notes on Watching Columbo With My Parents, Further Customs of My People Such As The Hierarchy of Gin, and maybe my ranking of paranormal dude types. For the moment, this is my post.

Also, the Southern Poverty Law Center (https://www.splcenter.org/) has been doing wonderful work, and could use a donation.

If you would like a distraction, though, and God knows I’ve needed one from time to time, my latest recommendation is We Rate Dogs, or Googling “snakes in hats”. They’re snakes! In hats!

About isabelcooper

I'm Izzy. I write stuff: mostly vaguely fantasy stuff, and most notably the following books: Hickey of the Beast, published March 2011 by Candlemark and Gleam No Proper Lady, published September 2011 by Sourcebooks Lessons After Dark, forthcoming in April 2012 from Sourcebooks I also like video games, ballroom dancing, and various geeky hobbies like LARPing. I have been known to voluntarily purchase and eat circus peanuts. Like, a whole bag at once.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Serious

  1. Michael Mock says:

    “I may post something about the times when “loyalty” is not a virtue…”
    I have for years taken issue with the Boy Scouts over their insistence that Obedience is a virtue. Both Loyalty and Obedience strike me as things that you might strive to earn from somebody, but not as virtues in themselves.

    • Part of the original concept for the Boy Scouts was that it would teach lower-class British kids to Do Their Duty when a superior barked at them.

      • Michael Mock says:

        Yeah… regardless of the history, I find that immoral and abhorrent. I did even when I was a kid, though my reaction was a bit milder then (more along the lines of “Wait, what?”). Knowing the history doesn’t mitigate it a bit, either (though I suspect you’re right there with me, since you brought it up like this).

  2. mfennvt says:

    That Nathan Bedford Forrest statue is creepy and hilarious at the same time.

Leave a Reply

